Dresden Technical University

TU Dresden (for German: Technische Universität Dresden, abbreviated as TUD and often wrongly translated as "Dresden University of Technology") is a public research university, the largest institute of higher education in the city of Dresden, the largest university in Saxony and one of the 10 largest universities in Germany with 32,389 students as of 2018.

The name Technische Universität Dresden has only been used since 1961; the history of the university, however, goes back nearly 200 years to 1828. This makes it one of the oldest colleges of technology in Germany, and one of the country’s oldest universities, which in German today refers to institutes of higher education that cover the entire curriculum. The university is a member of TU9, a consortium of the nine leading German Institutes of Technology. The university is one of eleven German universities which succeeded in the Excellence Initiative in 2012, thus getting the title of a "University of Excellence". The TU Dresden succeeded in all three rounds of the German Universities Excellence Initiative (Future Concept, Graduate Schools, Clusters of Excellence).


  • History
  • Campus
  • Organization
  • Sciences
  • Engineering
  • Humanities and Social Sciences3.4Medicine
  • 5Research Centers
  • Research
  • Biotechnology and medical technology
  • Magnetism and material sciences
  • Micro and nanotechnology
  • Transport
  • Business and Economics
  • Other research areas
  • Reputation
  • International cooperations
  • Student life
  • General
  • International students
  • Leisure activities
  • Performing arts ensembles
  • Funding
  • Points of interest
  • Notable people
  • 1Honorary doctors
  • Honorary senators
  • Faculty
  • Alumni
  • References
  • External links